#BuildingEquity21

Wednesday, November 10

through

Friday, November 12

We’re committed to equitable building decarbonization across the Midwest.

What does that look like? What do we need to learn and unlearn? Join the Midwest Building Decarbonization Coalition, supporters, and partners to help answer these questions. Together we will:

  • Define the state of equity in our movement,
  • Reflect on the negative outcomes to climate justice that will emerge unless and until we equitably decarbonize,
  • Highlight how we can collaborate for an equitable future,
  • Develop a set of recommendations on how to proceed. 

Join us each day by registering and interacting on Zoom, or by watching most sessions on Facebook Live.

Join the conversation with the hashtag #BuildingEquity21.

If you have any trouble joining any of the events, please email us at midwestdecarb@gmail.com.

Wednesday, November 10

8:45-9am 
Central 
9:45-10am 
Eastern
Mindfulness Meditation

Eric Fowler
Midwest BDC

Live on Facebook
9-10am 
Central 
10-11am
Eastern
Opening Session
Equitable Building Decarbonization Strategies

Speakers: 

Jacqui Patterson
Founder and Executive Director at Chisholm Legacy Project. Former NAACP Senior Director, Environmental and Climate Justice Program

Dr. Jalonne White-Newsome
Founder and CEO at Empowering a Green Environment and Economy, LLC. Professional Lecturer in Environmental and OCcupational Health. Former Senior Program Officer at Kresge Foundation. 

Moderator: 

Jamie Simmons 
Michigan Climate Action Network (MiCAN)

Live on Facebook
10-10:15am
Central
11-11:15am
Eastern
15 Minute Break
10:15-11:30am 
Central 
11:15am-12:30pm 
Eastern
Workshop 1
Defining our Coalition

Dallas Conyers 
Southeast Energy Network, USCAN Board, Black Green New Network Member, Certified Sustainable Agriculturalist, Certified Beekeeper
11:30am-12:30pm 
Central  
12:30-1:30pm 
Eastern
60 Minute Musical Break
With DJ Black Monk Fonzi

Live on Facebook
12:30-1:45pm 
Central 
1:30-2:45pm 
Eastern
Workshop 2
Million Dollar Question: Can we do Equitable Decarbonization and work with Utilities? And How?

Moderator:

Anjali Bains 
Lead Director of Energy Access and Equity, Fresh Energy

Panelists:

Teresa Haley
Illinois NAACP State Conference President

Shimekia Nicols 
Soulardarity Executive Director

Yesenia Rivera
Solar United Neighbors Director of Energy Equity and Inclusion
1:45-2pm 
Central 
2:45-3pm 
Eastern
15 Minute Break
2-3:30pm 
Central
3-4:30pm 
Eastern
Workshop 3
Undoing White Supremacy Culture in our Space

LaTisha Harris 
Mothers Out Front, Fresno Climate Justice Organizer 

Stephanie Bowman
Mothers Out Front, Manager of Movements and Campaigns

Live on Facebook
3:30-3:45pm
Central
4:30-4:45pm
Eastern
15 Minute Break
3:45-4:30pm
Central 
4:45-5:30pm 
Eastern
Closing Session
Healing Justice

Dallas Conyers 
Southeast Energy Network, USCAN Board, Black Green New Network Member, Certified Sustainable Agriculturalist, Certified Beekeeper

Live on Facebook
4:30pm 
Central 
5:30pm 
Eastern
End

Thursday, November 11

8:45-9am 
Central 
9:45-10am 
Eastern
Mindfulness Meditation

Eric Fowler
Midwest BDC

Live on Facebook
9-10am 
Central 
10-11am
Eastern
Opening Session
Critiquing Net Zero: Climate Policy Strategy in states in the Midwest

Host: 

Janiece Watts
Director of Culture and Partnerships, Fresh Energy

Speaker: 

Derrell Slaughter
Michigan Clean Energy Advocate

Live on Facebook
10-10:15am
Central
11-11:15am
Eastern
15 Minute Break
10:15-11:30am 
Central 
11:15am-12:30pm 
Eastern
Workshop 1
Net Zero vs. Zero Emissions in Building Decarbonization

Basev Sen 
Institute for Policy Studies, Climate Justice Project Director

Kelly Stone 
Senior Policy Analyst, ActionAid USA

Live on Facebook
11:30am-12:30pm 
Central  
12:30-1:30pm 
Eastern
60 Minute Musical Break
With DJ Black Monk Fonzi
12:30-1:45pm 
Central 
1:30-2:45pm 
Eastern
Workshop 2
State Policy Strategy: Passing the Climate and Equitable Jobs Act in Illinois

Moderator:
Briana Parker, Esq.
Policy Manager, Elevate

Panelists:

Gregory Norris
Aces for Youth 
Carbondale NAACP Environmental and Climate Justice Chairperson

Angela Morrison 
Policy Engagement Manager, Chicago Jobs Council

Delmar L. Gillus Jr. 
Chief Operating Officer of Elevate

John Deluray 
Senior Regional Director, Vote Solar and Illinois Clean Jobs Coalition Steering Committee member

Live on Facebook
1:45-2pm 
Central 
2:45-3pm 
Eastern
15 Minute Break
2-3:30pm 
Central
3-4:30pm 
Eastern
Workshop 3
Undoing White Supremacy Culture: Sense of Urgency 

Bishop Marcia Dinkins
Women of Sustainable Change

Live on Facebook
3:30-3:45pm
Central
4:30-4:45pm
Eastern
15 Minute Break
3:45-4:30pm
Central 
4:45-5:30pm 
Eastern
Closing Session
Healing Justice

Dallas Conyers 
Southeast Energy Network, USCAN Board, Black Green New Network Member, Certified Sustainable Agriculturalist, Certified Beekeeper

Live on Facebook
4:30pm 
Central 
5:30pm 
Eastern
End

Friday, November 12

8:45-9am 
Central 
9:45-10am 
Eastern
Mindfulness Meditation
Eric Fowler
Midwest BDC

Live on Facebook
9-10am 
Central 
10-11am
Eastern
Opening Session
Building Consensus on Coalition Priorities

Eric Fowler
Midwest BDC
10-10:15am
Central
11-11:15am
Eastern
15 Minute Break
10:15-11:30am 
Central 
11:15am-12:30pm 
Eastern
Workshop 1
Doing Justice with Data:  When numbers change the way we view the world

Ian Tran 
ISMOTION | Co-Founder Emeritus Alkemystery 313, LLC

Valeria Rincon
Schneider Fellow- Midwest Climate & Clean Energy Program, NRDC (Natural Resources Defense Council) 
11:30am-12:30pm 
Central  
12:30-1:30pm 
Eastern
Lunchtime Funders Roundtable
12:30-1:45pm 
Central 
1:30-2:45pm 
Eastern
Workshop 2
Aligning Equity and our Technical Workstreams

Jacob Serfling
Midwest Building Decarbonization Coalition

Amy Cortese
NBI- Program Director

Doug Jester 
5 Lakes Energy, Managing Partner

Tim Skrotzk
Senior Market Development Lead for Elevate

Leslee Jackson
Minneapolis Fellow, Environmental Justice Coordinating Council

Sonrisa Lucero
Equitable Building Decarbonization Manager, RMI

Imani Mosher ​
Sustainable Design Intern, Precipitate
1:45-2pm 
Central 
2:45-3pm 
Eastern
15 Minute Break
2-3:30pm 
Central
3-4:30pm 
Eastern
Workshop 3
What does Collective Liberation look like?

Rev. Michael Malcom 
People’s Justice Council

Live on Facebook
3:30-3:45pm
Central
4:30-4:45pm
Eastern
15 Minute Break
3:45-4:30pm
Central 
4:45-5:30pm 
Eastern
Closing Session
Healing Justice


Dallas Conyers 
Southeast Energy Network, USCAN Board, Black Green New Network Member, Certified Sustainable Agriculturalist, Certified Beekeeper

Live on Facebook
4:30pm 
Central 
5:30pm 
Eastern
End